Shameless Self Promotion – Vote or Die

Word Count – 500

Hey everyone, J.D. here. Listen up, you know I don’t ask you people for much. Well, alright, I do often ask you to take time out of your day to visit the site, read my articles, comment on them, spread the word about the site, and congratulate me in public for my genius and creativity. But shit just got real, folks, and I need your help.

Now, you don’t like me and I don’t like you, but we need to help each other out and get me into the top 10 in this contest…

http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/ace/gone-wacky/62325597.html

I am a contestant in the “Winnipeg’s Gone Wacky” stand up competition. As I am sure all of you are aware that I am a) Living in Winnipeg, b) A huge fan of going places, and c) Wacky, I feel it would be a massive disservice to the community, my country, and dare I say, the world as a whole if I do not make it into the final round of this thing.

This is where you come in. I need you to give a 5 star vote for my video in the link below. You will need to register for the winnipeg free press site, but it will only take a minute, I promise. The first wave of internet voting determines who makes it into the finals, so vote early and vote often. Also, spread the love around and send this link to everyone you know, and get them to vote, too. Grand prize for this thing is $1,000, and I’m pretty sure I don’t need to remind any of you what my opinion of large sums of money is. For those in need of a reminder, I am for it.

Voting is only open for the next 5 days, and closes this friday October 2nd. The competition is stiff, so please, look into your heart, deny the justified anger inside of you, forget about all those horrible things I’ve either said and/or done to you, and vote. Remember, it takes a village to… help me win $1,000.

direct link – Vote for “J.D. Renaud – Slurpee Capitol”
http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/ace/gone-wacky/62325597.html

contest main page
http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/ace/gone-wacky/

Thanks again, and wish me luck.

– J.D. Renaud

For more information on what exactly I’m putting myself through, please watch the 1969 film ‘They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?’, and consult your local library on the phenomena of depression era marathon dances.

Marathon Dancing is a dance activity that became popular in the 1920s and 1930s. Many unemployed people competed in the contests in order to achieve fame or win monetary prizes.

Leave a Reply

